About The Archive
The Maldon Archive is built around a large collection of historical photographs and postcards of and around Maldon and the surrounding district including the Dengie Peninsula. The Maldon Archive, contains over 104,750 plus images - mainly black and white plates, negatives, colour and black & white slides along with a substantial collection of colour and black & white prints, postcards and Maldon photography generally, together an extensive collection of recordings of Maldon’s history and life stories and experiences from local residents, past and present.
Our sound archive includes wax cylinders, wire recordings, shellac discs, reel to reel magnetic tapes, cassettes, multi-track reels, DAT, MiniDisc’s and of course a number of digital formats covering a period from June 1927 to August 2018. These are available on our 2012 website.
The Maldon Archive also provides a unique photographic record of Maldon and the surrounding area, its people, streets and buildings from a period dating back as far as 1852 and provides a visual record of the development of Maldon and District over the last 165 years. Our full collection of images and sound will be available online over time. It will also contain a growing selection of images of artefacts and documents. The Archive is particularly rich in rurally based material. Subject matter also includes local events such as the famous Maldon Mud Race and the Carnival, places such as Beeleigh, Heybridge and Heybridge Basin, ex-local business-like John Sadd & Sons and E H Bentall & Co, subjects of general interest: Maldon’s Pubs and Inns, both of Maldon’s Railways, Maldon’s Military.